Tinubu’s Ministerial list

Ministerial list: APC bigwigs intensify lobby


Former governors, senators, and other bigwigs in the All Progressives Congress, APC, have intensified lobbying for ministerial appointments from President Bola Tinubu.


DAILY POST investigations indicated that some state chapters of the ruling party have already compiled names of persons nominated for ministerial slots while others are still in the process.


According to reliable sources, the lists are set to be forwarded to the party’s secretariat in Abuja for onward transmission to President Tinubu, who will decide on the shortlist and unveil the names of ministers and their portfolios any time soon.


Recall that on March 17, 2023, former President Muhammadu Buhari signed a measure requiring the President and governors to submit the names of those nominated for positions as ministers or commissioners within 60 days of starting office.

Buhari signed amended bills that mandate Tinubu to name a cabinet within 60 days.


The lists are subject to confirmation by the Senate and state House of Assembly, respectively. In line with this new order, President Bola Tinubu, who took over power on May 29, has less than 33 days left to unveil the list of his ministers.


There are 27 ministries left vacant by the previous administration. These are:


Federal Capital Territory Administration


Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development


Ministry of Aviation


Ministry of Budget and National Planning


Ministry of Commerce and Industry


Ministry of Education


Ministry of Environment


Ministry of Finance


Ministry of Health


Ministry of Information and Culture


Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy


Ministry of Interior


Ministry of Justice


Ministry of Labour and Employment


Ministry of Petroleum Resources


Ministry of Water Resources


Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development


Ministry of Mines and Steel Development


Ministry of Defence


Ministry of Niger Delta Affairs


Ministry of Power


Ministry of Transportation.


Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Mgt and Social Development


Ministry of Science, Technology, and Innovation


Ministry of Youth and Sport


Ministry of Works and Housing


Ministry of Foreign Affairs


While President Tinubu has been enjoying public acceptance following his recent appointments, there are worries that party loyalists rather than competent individuals may occupy the ministerial seats.


DAILY POST findings indicated that some party chieftains, including ex-governors and former lawmakers who lost out in the February 25 election, have been sighted frequently at the APC National Secretariat in the past few weeks. Their sudden appearances at the national capital secretariat are construed as an apparent jostling for ministerial positions.


Others did not appear in Abuja, but their names are strongly mentioned as likely candidates to appear on the ministerial list. This category includes former governors Ikedi Ohakim of Imo State, Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna State, and Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano.


Similarly, there are speculations that former Rivers State governor Nyesom Wike, currently a Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) stalwart, is contemplating defecting to the ruling party for a subsequent appointment.


States chapters of APC are also contending for slots as compensation for their contribution to Tinubu’s presidential victory.


The immediate past Senate Majority Leader, Senator Ibrahim Gobir, is being considered for a ministerial slot in Sokoto State, while party members in Osun State are rooting for the immediate past governor of the state, Gboyega Oyetola, to be named a minister.


Beyond rumors, a party source who spoke to Daily Post on the condition of anonymity confirmed that some party members who did not win the last general election but toiled tirelessly to ensure Bola Tinubu’s victory on February 25 will be rewarded with ministerial jobs or other high-ranking positions.


However, he quickly added that such appointments would be determined on a quid pro quo basis.


He said: “You want to be appointed as a minister, but meanwhile, you could not even deliver your own polling unit for Asiwaju. It is not possible; this is politics.


“There are people in the party who worked against us. Such people are now lobbying for ministerial slots; how is that possible? The fact that you are well-known in the party is not enough reason to be appointed. You gain favor based on the favor you render.”


He added, “There are some people who were not members of our party but fought a good fight to ensure that Asiwaju won that election; should Tinubu now abandon them and go for those who didn’t do anything just because they are party members? No, it doesn’t work like that.


“If you are not loyal, you cannot work with Bola Tinubu. He works with people he trusts, not someone who is just an APC member.”


Iorfa Thomas, a leader in the ruling party and a former senatorial candidate in Benue’s Zone C senatorial district, claimed that Tinubu would have a good cabinet to provide Nigerians with the desired level of governance.


According to him, previous appointments made by the president are a good indicator of how his ministers will also be appointed.


He said: “President Tinubu will not disappoint Nigerians; even though he does not have enough time, Nigerians should expect capable people in his cabinet. It is not about spending the whole year looking for a capable person. I believe he already knows those he can work with.”


He noted, “Former president Buhari had almost half a year to pick his ministers, yet they didn’t meet the expectations of average Nigerians. Tinubu has limited time based on the recent law mandating him to pick his ministers within 60 days of his assumption of office, but he will have the best ministers in the country’s history.”


He said further: “If you look at his recent appointments, you will see that the president balanced them by going to different regions. He is going to make sure that nobody is left out.


“For example, in Benue, the Tiv already have George Akume as Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF); so a ministerial slot will likely be given to Zone C, the Idoma nation.


“I am certain that when the list is out at the end of the day, we will all have reasons to celebrate the President.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *